Will VR be all we have left in the future?

Are we less willing to change than we thought?

Ada Ubrezi
6 min readJan 20, 2020

A few weeks ago, I finally managed to visit my friend’s place. Her parents live in a small town in northern Germany, surrounded by nature. I couldn’t imagine a better place for a much need break from a busy city.

Unfortunately for us, it was raining cats and dogs. No fear! VR is here! My friend’s parents have recently purchased a VR set, so we couldn’t think of a better opportunity to test it.

In case you are wondering, YouTube has a whole bunch of VR content. Whether you want to dive and discover coral reefs, go on a space adventure, skydive, go for a rollercoaster right, you choose.

My VR experience

I chose to dive at coral reefs. Swimming in clear-blue, sky-like water, with hundreds of little fishes in craziest colour combinations, float alongside sea turtles. I spent a good 10 minutes starting at coral reefs. It was amazing.

But as I kept exploring the world underneath, I got a panic attack out of the blue. There was nothing scary in the video. It just really hit me I might be looking at something that might not be there in a few years. You know, these days it’s almost impossible not to read about coral bleaching, among many other issues.

--

--

Ada Ubrezi

I enjoy researching different topics, occasionally, I’ll turn them into articles.